One of the most transformative things I have done for my health is to transition my diet to primarily raw, vegan, organic cuisine.

Some may roll their eyes at the thought of eating such foods because this seems weird, out of the norm, and at worst, bland or even boring.

Fortunately, there is NO deprivation. After spending some time with the chefs at the Tree of Life (www.treeoflife.nu) and studying raw food preparation, I learned the basic skills of preparing this food, and my taste buds have been thanking me ever since.

Whatever food one can imagine in the cooked kingdom – everything from milk to pizza to spaghetti and desserts – can be replicated with this nouveau cuisine. Not only can these foods taste similar if not better, the health effects are so uplifting as to even raise consciousness – this is what I have tasted.

One of my favorite books to study raw food cuisine is Rainbow Green Live Food Cuisine by Gabriel Cousens, M.D., one of the world’s eminent raw food physicians.

Years ago, I thought my health was pretty good, I liked to eat what I considered “healthy”…but only after I fine tuned my nutrition to this supreme level higher octane level, did I feel like a Mercedes finally being provided it’s super unleaded gasoline instead of the regular unleaded where it would just choke and sputter.

Since I began this journey in 2004 after a severe case of food poisoning when I took my girlfriend at the time to an “unforgettable” lunch of fish tacos in Tijuana, Mexico across the border from San Diego, my body has undergone dramatic changes.

By eating as much as possible foods in their purest state possible, I have healed myself of depression, insomnia, fatigue, candidiasis, a severe jawbone infection caused by “creative dentistry” – not only that, I’m told I look like I’m in my early 20s and most of the time I feel like it too!

Although at first I was extreme in my approach, almost like a religious zealot on a holy crusade, over the years I have found a happy middle ground. Today, I balance my commitments. For example, every day, whenever possible, at the beginning of the day I create a fresh healthy juice from fresh fruits and vegetables – there it is, pure liquid nutrition. And I also fill a gallon jug with pure reverse osmosis water, replenishing it with Himalayan sea salt and other trace minerals—and don’t go to sleep until I have downed the whole bottle.

But after doing this daily “rejuvenative practice” I allow myself to go with the flow the rest of the day. Especially if I am joining friends or clients to eat with I’ll give myself free reign over what I eat. I will even eat fish on occasion, and I don’t mind a mojito (rum, mint leaves, and sugar cane – my favorite sample was in Cuba), margarita, or red wine on special occasion.

In this way I don’t feel isolated from the rest of the world, I can participate in all the fun and festivities and at the same time I feel my body strong and resilient enough to handle the onslaught.

The crazy thing is that if I go too much to the other extreme and eat too many cooked foods with preservatives over the holidays, I feel my sense of energy shrink down again.

4/3/2009 10:37:12 am

I had dealt with insomnia for a long period of time. I did find that switching to a more natural eating diet, I was able to sleep a lot better.

Reply
6/11/2012 06:14:29 pm

The life of people, always has to avoid ups. Not always such as sun dongsheng, also won't always was painful. Repeated a float a heavy, to a person, it is tested. Therefore, float on it, and don't have to pride; Under the sink in, don't need more pessimistic. Must be blunt, modest attitude, optimistic and enterprising, forward.

Reply



Leave a Reply.